cindymckayinteriors

Just another WordPress.com site

Command Central

DSC_0757 Every kitchen needs one and I’m not talking about a stove or a fridge or even a coffee machine (but absolutely without a doubt I couldn’t be without mine, I am NOT a nice person without coffee) but I am talking about a command central zone. You know, that place where you can drop everything; keys, change, mail, school work, the list goes on. It was critical that I incorporated one into our new kitchen (which we JUST finally finished, well except for the window treatments but more on that later). Honestly, it’s the best use of this little unused space in our hallway leading to the kitchen. I gave up a little closet space for it but it was worth every inch. Now there is an organized place for all the clutter and it stops it before it gets into my kitchen, bliss! As with most of my projects, I injected a good amount of DIY into this little nook as well. What is now the magnetic board was a chalkboard I picked up at HomeSense. The frame had just the right amount of whimsy to it and was the colour I wanted. I simply glued aluminum sheeting onto the chalkboard part to make it magnetic, covered the aluminum with this cheery polka-dot fabric and trimmed the edges with some ribbon. Voila, a customized magnetic board pretty enough to fit in with the rest of the decor in my new kitchen. I loved the polka-dot fabric so much that I used it to cover this $50 stool from Target (it was a terrible red chenille covered thing) added some nail head detail and it’s now the perfect perch for kiddos doing homework or art projects while keeping them close by.  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2014 by in Projects and tagged .

Follow me on Instagram!

Adding some finishing touches to the living room at #cmiprojectfairlawn and I’m swooning over this new @tonicliving floral fabric. Comes in navy too! Remember that fun orange headboard @restylestudioto was working on last week? Well she's done and installed and pretty darn cute if I do say so myself. FOR SALE: Brand new, custom drapery panels made with @caitlinwilsondesign English Garden fabric. Sometimes things just don't work out and these weren't right for a recent client project. They are stunning and would be terrific in a variety of spaces - girls bedroom, living room, etc. Each panel measures 48"W x 96.5"L but could be easily altered to suit your space. DM me if interested!! 📷@kmtorrey I love seeing my crazy ideas come to life! Thanks to the very talented Andrea @restylestudioto this headboard is going to be a stunner in my girls room! Some room sneak peaks in stories.  #Repost @restylestudioto (@get_repost)
・・・
SHERBET SHOWCASE || ice cream dreams keeping the temps in check.
#colab @cindymckayinteriors .
.
.
.
.
#restylestudio #restylestudiotoronto #sprayfinish #painting #furniture #furnituremakeover #orange #restylelovesbehr #behrmarquee #behrpaint #instadecor #abmlifeiscolorful #abmlifeissweet #toronto #torontostyle #torontolife #decor #kidsroom #kidsfurniture

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

